It's time to vote for your favourite story and author in this year's clitoridesawards. [ X Dismiss ]

Aquea: Blog

Back to Aquea's Blog

Chronological timeline

January 9, 2015
Posted at 3:54 pm

I was asked by a reader to post a blog stating the order in which the stories in the Dragon Age Universe are meant to be read.

It's a hard question to answer, because some of them follow the same timeline, and some don't.

Essentially, 'Scenes', 'Leliana' and 'Double Trouble' follow the same timeline and group of people, but 'Leliana' takes place in the middle of 'Scenes' and 'Double Trouble' is at the end. Any of them can be read alone, if you have any knowledge of the game, as they don't change the canon, just flesh it out a bit.

'I'm not here for love' is a separate timeline - the same game, but a different Warden. Follows the timeline of the game "Dragon Age: Origins" but ignores all the other material in the franchise - the books and other games.

'Politics' is a stand-alone of an Alternate Universe - again, same game, but a 'what if' scenario that couldn't have happened in game.

'There and Back', my current epic, is a retelling of the same game from the point of view of an Original Character who falls into the world from modern day Earth, and dramatically changes the outcome.

So I wouldn't consider these a series, more a group of separate stories all inspired by the same game. If you're not familiar with the game, the epilogue of "There and Back" has a very long, convoluted, sort of dull walk-through of the game events for Origins. I wrote it on request from some readers, but it's...dry. You've been warned.