Home « Forum « Bug Report and Feature Requests

Forum: Bug Report and Feature Requests

Archived Messages

zellus

Why can't I delete Archived Messages?

Lazeez Jiddan (Webmaster)
Updated:

@zellus

They're archived.

Why archive a message since you want to delete it?

The system will delete all read messages older than a year. So don't worry about them.

Replies:   zellus
Ernest Bywater

also, there was an option to delete when you chose to archive. Having decided to archive it sits for a year and disintegrates, so who acres.

Replies:   awnlee jawking
awnlee jawking

@Ernest Bywater

I'm confused. Is it the case that you can only delete messages of which you're the recipient, yet you can archive messages you sent or received?

AJ

Replies:   Ernest Bywater
zellus

@Lazeez Jiddan (Webmaster)

The system will delete all read messages older than a year. So don't worry about them


Is archived messages deleted after 1 year?
This is my understanding of the mail system; messages in the inbox is deleted after 1 year, and archived messages is not.

Lazeez Jiddan (Webmaster)

@zellus

Is archived messages deleted after 1 year?


All read messages are deleted after one year, archived or not. The volume of message is too big to keep indefinitely.

Our current hosting facilities (since 2016) have much higher processing speeds and much more bandwidth than the previous facilities, but disk space is limited and precious and not to be wasted on something that will be mostly totally forgotten a year later, never to be accessed ever again.

And if a message is important, well, one can save it to their own computer if needed.

Ernest Bywater

@awnlee jawking

Is it the case that you can only delete messages of which you're the recipient, yet you can archive messages you sent or received?


looking at the options on each page a message in your In Box can be replied to, deleted, or archived, or reported. When you choose reply you can send, send & archive, or cancel. Unless you delete or archive a message it stays in your In Box. So if you want to reply then delete you simply choose reply, then choose send, then go back to the In Box and delete.

You can't delete from the sent box or the archive box, but that happens automatically after a year.

Back to Top